Rules Analysis
World Flying Disc Federation 2017 Rules of Ultimate
17. Fouls
.

Any reference in section 17 to ‘contact’ is considered to be a reference to non-incidental contact, as, per 15.1, a foul is specifically defined as “non-incidental contact”.

17.6.
6
.

Offensive Receiving Fouls:

A receiving foul can be deemed to have occurred if any player involved in the foul is attempting to make contact with the disc in anyway i.e. to catch it or block it.

Non incidental contact that occurs directly after the attempt at the disc (i.e. a defender catches the disc and then collides with an offence player) is considered to be a receiving foul. Minor contact with the opponent’s arms after the block occurs could reasonably be considered as incidental, and therefore not a foul.

If Player A initiates contact with an opponent (Player B) that is the cause for Player B contacting Player A’s teammate (Player C), then Player C cannot call a foul on Player B as they did not initiate the contact.

If the disc is in the air but the players involved in the foul were running to receive or defend the next pass after possession has been established, this should be treated as an Indirect foul (rule 17.9).

An uncontested offensive receiving foul is a turnover (rule 17.6.2); however an uncontested indirect foul by the offence is not (rule 17.9.2).

If the offense commits a foul after establishing possession in the air, but the foul was caused by actions not related to the process of making the catch (eg while attempting to intentionally land in the end zone), this should be treated as an indirect foul.

17.6.2.

If the foul is uncontested, the result is a turnover, and the defensive player gains possession at the point of the breach.

Get Link